On calling for help and the election…

I made a sort of offhand comment on Election Night that I would be interested to see if the calls to suicide prevention and crisis hotlines had increased exponentially that night.

Yeah. They did.

The article does explain that a lot of the calls/texts weren’t directly related to the election; the election was a trigger.  A great majority of those seeking help were members of the LGBTQ community.  Suicide and self-harm is already more prevalent within that community so I wasn’t all that surprised to hear that this election has made them feel even more fearful than they had previously.  I wasn’t all that surprised to hear that Muslim-Americans were reaching out for help.  I’m sure minorities did, too.

I hadn’t expected to need to use the Crisis Text Line myself that night, but I did.

I have very little to fear personally from Trump and his administration.  I was one of the ones “triggered” to seek help because of everything else going on in my life and in my head.  I am afraid for others and I’m disgusted that some Trump voters are behaving in ways that seem to validate all of the negative things his opponents thought of them.

I get why he won.  Really, I do.  Most Americans feel like they’re being ignored or left behind by the establishment.  That’s conservatives AND liberals AND moderates AND pretty much everyone you can think of.  Trump got tons of free advertising from the media because of all of the awful things he said and did.  Some of his supporters might indeed be terrible people but most of them are sick and tired of American politics as usual and they saw Trump and said, “Yep.  Elect THIS guy and politicians can’t possibly ignore us.”  Democrats might have had a shot if they’d run damn near literally ANYONE but Hillary because the Clintons are as establishment as you can possibly get.  They were banking on her being a woman and Trump being awful to get people to vote for her and they severely underestimated the anger of the average American.

I’m going to once again reference Cracked.com because David Wong nails it every time.

I was not thrilled with the prospect of a Hillary Clinton presidency but the thought of a Trump presidency repulsed me so I voted for her.  Sure, it crossed my mind that it was kind of cool to vote for a female presidential candidate of one of the major parties but I didn’t think it mattered all that much to me.  It wasn’t a feminist thing.  At least, not at first.  It absolutely became one and I couldn’t really articulate WHY it seemed so very appropriate that a woman was running against Trump.  John Oliver did that.  The relevant bit is really close to the end of the clip, but that describes it perfectly.  I still didn’t think it would matter all that much to me if she was elected or not.  It did.  It mattered A LOT.  That didn’t hit me until I watched these clips here.  The Benedict Cumberbatch one was aired on Monday, before the election, so it doesn’t cover that she didn’t win.  I think I watched all four of those clips back-to-back and I was just sobbing.  And because I’m a masochist, I read this not long after watching those.

I had no idea it meant so much to me to have voted for her.  And knowing the kind of straight-up ASSHOLE that was elected instead made it much worse.  I used the Crisis Text Line because I’ve lost my best friends and couldn’t talk to them and seek reassurance.  But think about all of the people who feel genuinely threatened by him.

And then watch this.  Yes, she literally says, “BOW DOWN.”

I wanted Hillary to beat him so much.  But she didn’t and the election result triggered me but it has to be so much worse for anyone who identifies with any group he’s targeted in his speeches.  I don’t know what Omarosa means by “getting revenge,” but the simple fact that he encourages that sort of talk is horrifying.

Colbert has a few things to say about that, actually.

But the thing that got me sobbing today was watching clips from last night’s SNL episode.  Damn, they both killed it.

If you need help, please use these numbers:

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
1-800-273-TALK (8255)

Trevor Lifeline
1-866-488-7386

Trans Lifeline
US: 1-877-565-8860
Canada: 1-877-330-6366

Crisis Text Line
Text “741741”

 

Leave a Reply

