Small victory

Today was such a terrible mental and emotional roller coaster.  I don’t know if it’s a result of what mental illness does to me, if it’s continuing to adjust to new medications, or if it’s just needing to deal with things in general.  Going from enraged to heartbroken sobbing to numbness within the space of just a couple of hours isn’t something I’d wish on anyone.

The upshot is that the only person that had to deal with me in that state was me.  I didn’t lash out at anyone.  I didn’t do anything impulsive.  And even though it was awful, I didn’t self-harm.  I wanted to.  But I didn’t.  It’s not much of a victory but I’m still counting it as one.

cheering hedgie_edited
“YAY!”

(I really like hedgehogs.  I hate that they’re illegal to own as pets in California.)

1 thought on “Small victory”

Leave a Reply

